Teaching them to sleep

Learning to trust him

I’m feeding Thea as we eat dinner, about 8:30-9:00ish last night, and Andrew says, “She looks tired.”  I can’t see it.  I don’t know how he does that, but he can just look at someone or an animal and see what they’re experiencing or thinking.  I used to think it wasn’t real, but then I have nights like tonight.

So we sit down to have family scriptures before bed, and Thea is just jabbering and blowing raspberries.  She seems wired to me, but she’s so loud that we cut scriptures short, and I take her upstairs to read books to see if she’ll show me she’s tired. (Usually, when we read together, she’ll roll into me or start to get fussy.) Nothing.  Still seems wired to me.

Andrew comes in (our deal being I would put the baby to sleep while he went and got diapers). “I would just put her in her crib and see if she’ll go to sleep.”

I’m thinking, the last two times she’s slept, she’s just about had to fight to stay awake.  I like that way.  No crying :).  So I say, “But she’ll cry.  I don’t think she’s ready yet.”

“I’d still try.  Try it for 10 minutes, and if she doesn’t get tired, take her out.”

“You can,” I say.

“I got diapers,” he smiles. “You’re supposed to put her to sleep tonight.”

“Then I’ll put her to sleep on my terms.”

“Ok,” he shrugs.

I go back to reading Thea a book.  She starts to rub her eyes.  I keep reading.  She rubs her eyes again.  I sigh.  “Why do I even question your father?”

I put her down, wrap a blanket around her legs, put her binky in, put her stuffed monkey in her arms for her to snuggle, kiss her and tell her I love her and that she can do it and to remember she can pray and to let me know if she needs my help, and crack the door.

She cries.  “Do you think I should wait 3 minutes or 5 minutes tonight?” I ask Andrew.

“4 minutes,” he smiles.

4 minutes and I go in to comfort her.  She calms right down. I wait for her to breathe relaxed again; she starts to close her eyes. I leave, and go back in the bathroom to wait while Andrew brushes his teeth.

A few minutes later, I look down at the timer: 3:18.52, and realize it’s quiet.

“Whoa! She’s asleep!” I whisper loudly.

Andrew smiles.

And she slept all night long.

5 thoughts on “Learning to trust him

  1. Brings back memories, our first, Heidi, would not sleep, she cried and cried, I told Kathy, that kid is thirsty, Kathy said I just nursed her, I said she is thirsty, put warm water in a bottle and give it to her, gave her water she went right to sleep, no more crying. Dad’s do sence some things.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am here as your cheerleader. I have really enjoyd your blog. It is really a learning curve being a mother. At about 3 months our oldest, now a grandmother herself, decided she was done with naps. At first she cried, and so I let her. After about 30 minutes, I went into her room. The tears stopped abruptly. So I comforted her, then as I walked out of the room she let me know she was very unhappy. This became a daily ritual, with no nap
    I talked to a friend, who had 4 or 5 children. She suggested borrowing her playpen….as we were poor students. I placed it in the corner of a large kitchen. She played very cheerfully, but not a nap insight. I would sit beside her and quietly read a book. There was no interaction. She would quietly play beside me.
    Any nap was going to be a rarity. However, she slept a full twelve hour at night, as a good sleeper at least 12 hours, up to school age.
    And she is still a goer and a doer.
    Children’s needs are different. The other nine siblings were nappers, with no problem. Infact I was the one who cut her sister’s naps, when they would come into our room at 11 pm and flip on our light to play. Thus they were in bed and asleep for the night by 7:30.

    As an added note. I love the picture that you chose for your blog. It is so you. Your laugh is so sraight from the heart.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

