Cookery

White magic sauce

There is probably a name for this somewhere, but all I know is that it is my base for just about everything.  That’s what I learned: seek to find the base.  Then learn to cook meals with that base.

White Magic Sauce:

  1. A number of tablespoons of softened butter
  2. An equal number of tablespoons of flour
  3. An amount milk

Serious.  That’s it.  Just put the butter and flour in the pan and mix together once the butter is melty, let it cook for like 2-3-4 minutes while you stir (really, I just stir until I’m bored…), then add the milk.  Get it to a low boil, and then stir consistently until it gets to the thickness you’re looking for.

I say “a number” and “amount” because it really depends on what you are making and how sauce-like or how gravy-like you want something.

What I make that uses this sauce:

  • Fettuccine Alfredo
  • Cheddar Fettuccine Alfredo
  • Macaroni and Cheese
  • Biscuits and Gravy
  • Mashed Potatoes and Gravy
  • Gnocchi Soup
  • Chicken Broth Soup
  • Beef Stroganoff
  • Beef Spaetzle

See?  Bunches of stuff.

I don’t intend to write down all these recipes for you.  If it’s something I created myself, maybe I will later.  But mostly, I want to use a couple of recipes to show you how I use this magic white sauce.  Hate me if you must.

EXAMPLES:

Biscuits and Gravy, the Gravy:

  • 1/2 cup of butter
  • 1/2 cup of flour
  • 4 cups of milk
  • 1 Tablespoon of salt
  • 1 Tablespoon of pepper (my husband likes less pepper though)

Follow the directions on the white sauce above as explained previously.  Add in some cooked sausage and spread over biscuits.  Boom! Done.

Now, be amazed.

Mac and Cheese, the Gravy:

  • 1/2 cup of butter
  • 1/2 cup of flour
  • 4 cups of milk
  • 1 Tablespoon of salt
  • 1 Tablespoon of pepper

Same process for the white sauce, maybe cook a little longer for more thickness.  Then spread over cooked noodles and 4-6 cups of cheese.  Let it sit and melt the cheese.  Mix together.  Cover with smashed knock-off-brand club crackers.  Cook at 325 degrees for 12-15 min. Done. Really.

Two meals out of the same sauce.  Cool, huh?

It gets cooler.

Got leftover gravy?  Save it and put it in some soup the next day.

Gnocchi Soup and Chicken Broth Soup, the Soup:

  • White sauce (if you haven’t any left over gravy, then play around with different amounts of butter and flour (like 2 T each) and milk (maybe just 1 cup if you’re low), but the white sauce is not necessarily your base for this.  It is just an added bonus for consistency, and maybe some flavor.)
  • 6 cups Water (The true base)
  • Then play with spices.  I use a varying amount of chicken bouillon cubes (my base flavor), salt, pepper, and maybe some garlic and/or onion powder.  End of list.
  • I like to add some frozen spinach for looks.

Seriously, that’s it.

For Gnocchi Soup, use some leftover baked potatoes (like 2-3).  Mash up the potatoes (scoop it out of the skin first).  Add in 2-3 cups of flour to the potatoes and knead until it turns into a dough.  Take out little bits and roll out into long skinny hotdog-like strips.  Cut into desired size.  Throw sections into your pot of boiling soup.  When they rise to the top, take them out because they are done.  When you’ve boiled all your gnocchi, put them back in the soup, and done.

For Chicken Broth Soup (if you’ve got a better name, use it), add in whatever veggies you have/desire.  Done.

I like bread bowls with our soups, but that’s another post.

Basically, what I hope you see from this is that the magic white sauce can really go into a bunch of different things.  Try it out and explore with other recipes that use any type of white sauce/gravy.  Principle of cooking: find the base.

And as you try stuff and feel around for what spices to add, I would suggest that you remember to pray and ask for guidance.  That’s what I’ve done.  Pray and ask, and then follow what ideas come.  God is a great cook.

Finally, here is the link to the Mac & Cheese and to the Gnocchi and the Gnocchi soup that I have modified to what we have and to what is needed in my opinion.  They’re also on my pinterest boards.

http://acozykitchen.com/how-to-make-gnocchi/

Olive Garden Chicken Gnocchi Soup (Copycat)

THE Mac and Cheese

Leave a Reply

